Brain Storming nyelvtanulási segédletei

BRAIN STORMING három évtizedes nyelvoktatási és fordítói tapasztalata és gyakorlata által kiérlelt módszerek és segédletek tárháza.

Bejegyzések

Friss topikok

Címkék

Címkefelhő

555 angol példamondat a "to" és "-ing" vonzatú szerkezetekre

2016.01.07. 15:07 aforizmágus

  1. I was happy to help.
  2. She will be delighted to see you.
  3. The water was too cold to swim.
  4. Is your coffee too hot to drink?
  5. He was strong enough to lift it.
  6. She is rich enough to buy that car.
  7. I forgot to close the window.
  8. Mary needs to leave now.
  9. Why are they encouraged to learn English?
  10. We can't afford to take a long holiday.
  11. Swimming is good exercise.
  12. Doctors say that smoking is bad for you.
  13. I look forward to meeting them.
  14. They left without saying a word.
  15. I dislike getting up early.
  16. Would you mind opening the window?
  17. It started to rain / It started raining.
  18. I like to play tennis / I like playing tennis.
  19. I can’t afford to go on holiday.
  20. It began to rain.
  21. She hopes to go to university next year.
  22. My mother never learnt to swim.
  23. Did you remember to ring Nigel?
  24. I always enjoy cooking.
  25. We haven’t finished eating.
  26. She keeps changing her mind about the wedding.
  27. We just couldn’t imagine Gerry singing in public.
  28. Do you mind me being here while you’re working?
  29. I don’t want to risk him losing his job.
  30. I love cooking Indian food. (emphasis on the process itself and enjoyment of it)
  31. I like to drink juice in the morning, and tea at lunchtime. (emphasis more on the preference or habit)
  32. She hates cleaning her room. (emphasis on the process itself and no enjoyment of it)
  33. I hate to be the only person to disagree. (emphasis more on the result: I would prefer not to be in that situation.)
  34. Most people prefer watching a film at the cinema rather than on TV. (emphasis on the process itself and enjoyment of it)
  35. We prefer to drive during the day whenever we can. (emphasis more on the result and on the habit or preference. The speaker doesn’t necessarily enjoy the process of driving at any time of day.)
  36. She’d love to get a job nearer home.
  37. Would you like to have dinner with us on Friday?
  38. Working in London means leaving home at 6.30. (Because I work in London, this is the result or consequence.)
  39. I didn’t mean to make you cry. (I didn’t intend to make you cry.)
  40. He went on singing after everyone else had finished. (He continued singing without stopping.)
  41. She recited a poem, then went on to sing a lovely folk song. (She recited the poem first, then she sang the song.)
  42. I tried searching the web and finally found an address for him. (I searched the web to see what information I could find.)
  43. I tried to email Simon but it bounced back. (I tried/attempted to email him but I did not succeed.)
  44. She stopped crying as soon as she saw her mother. (She was crying, and then she didn’t cry anymore.)
  45. We stopped to buy some water at the motorway service area. (We were travelling and we stopped for a short time in order to buy some water.)
  46. Let me show you this DVD I’ve got.
  47. They made us wait while they checked our documents.
  48. She helped me find a direction in life.
  49. Everyone can help to reduce carbon emissions by using public transport.
  50. She heard people shouting in the street below and looked out of the window. (emphasises that the shouting probably continued or was repeated)
  51. I heard someone shout ‘Help!’, so I ran to the river. (emphasises the whole event: the person probably shouted only once)
  52. A police officer saw him running along the street. (emphasises the running as it was happening)
  53. Emily saw Philip run out of Sandra’s office. (emphasises the whole event from start to finish)
  54. I advised him to get a job as soon as possible.
  55. Did Martin teach Gary to play squash?
  56. They want me to go to Germany with them.
  57. I told him you really enjoy cooking.
  58. Would you mind helping me?
  59. It didn't stop raining all day yesterday.
  60. Daisy recommends trying Alfie’s tiramisu.
  61. Imagine not having pizza! I eat it all the time.
  62. She decided to go with Elliot instead.
  63. I wanted to visit
  64. She promised to take me there.
  65. I planned to go to some real Italian restaurants.
  66. She didn’t forget to phone.
  67. They decided not to make pizza.
  68. It started raining. or It started to rain.
  69. Don’t bother waiting for me.  or Don’t bother to wait for me.
  70. I love reading long novels.   (British English or American English)
  71. I love to read long novels.    (American English)
  72. Paulo loves living by the beach in Rio.
  73. Do you like working as a waitress?
  74. I never remember to lock the door, and my mum gets really angry!
  75. I never remember locking the door, but when I go back and check I always have.
  76. She stopped smoking three years ago.
  77. It was hot, so we stopped to have a drink.   (we stopped walking)
  78. We delayed launching the product because of technical problems.
  79. I look forward to meeting you next week.
  80. I don’t mind staying late.
  81. I really enjoy travelling abroad
  82. It's not worth repairing the camera. It would be cheaper to buy a new one.
  83. He has arranged to meet the visitors at the factory
  84. We were very unhappy with service they had provided. We refused to pay them.
  85. The company is taking on a lot of new staff. They plan to extend their researches in a new area.
  86. He was angry about the way company had treated him. They threatened to stop his project.
  87. Everyone likes being congratulated when they have worked hard.
  88. She expects to be promoted
  89. The lawer advised me to read the contract carefully.
  90. The negotiators persuaded the union to accept the pay deal.
  91. The court ordered the company to pay compensation.
  92. The fall in demand forced us to cut production
  93. They invited me to speak at the conference.
  94. "Could you come back later?" he asked me.
  95. He asked me to come back later.
  96. He said, "Don't put all your money in one company"
  97. He warned me not to put all my money in one company.
  98. She wanted to go home, but her boss made her stay until the work was finished.
  99. My boss let me have the afternoon off to go to my sister’s wedding.
  100. Could you help me (to) put these boxes in the van.
  101. I saw him sign the cheque.
  102. I saw the consultant waiting in reception. (I saw consultant. He was waiting in reception.)
  103. I remember sending them the cheque.
  104. I sent and I can remember now that did it.
  105. I remembered to send them the cheque.
  106. I remembered, and then I sent it.
  107. I will never forget meeting the President.
  108. I met him, and he impressed me. 
  109. I won’t forget to give her your message.
  110. I have made a note of it, and I will give it to her when I see her.
  111. We have stopped dealing with that firm.
  112. We used to deal with them, but we don't deal with them any more.
  113. At 12.00 we stopped to have a break
  114. We stopped for a break.
  115. I regret saying that I was not interested in the work.
  116. I said I was not interested in the work, and I now think that was a bad mistake.
  117. I regret to say that we will not be able to give you a contract.
  118. I am sorry that I have to say this.
  119. If the printer doesn’t work, try turning everything off and then starting again.
  120. Do this and see what happens.
  121. I will try to negotiate a better deal.
  122. I will make an effort to do this.
  123. This advertisement needs redesigning.
  124. This advertisement needs to be redesigned.
  125. We need to increase productivity
  126. It’s necessary to increase productivity.
  127. I like going abroad on marketing trips. (I enjoy this.)
  128. I would like to go more often.(I want to go more often.)
  129. I prefer working at home to working at the office. (I enjoy this more.)
  130. There is nothing wrong with the photocopier. It just needs servicing.
  131. We need to look at this proposal very carefully before we make a decision.
  132. I’ll make a note in my diary so that I will remember to send you information you need.
  133. I am not sure if I have met Mr. Martino, but I remember hearing his name.
  134. To know you is to love you.
  135. Why not go to the cinema?
  136. I can swim.
  137. He wants to swim.
  138. They don’t know how to swim.
  139. He made her swim.
  140. They wanted him to swim.
  141. It’s easier to swim
  142. We made a promise to swim. (derived from the verb ‘to promise’)
  143. Cycling is good for your health.
  144. He’s afraid of going by plane.
  145. Before going to bed he turned off the lights.
  146. I enjoy cooking.
  147. I am looking forward to seeing you again.
  148. We had problems finding our way back home.
  149. I started to read. / I started reading.
  150. She forbids us to talk. / She forbids talking.
  151. He stopped to smoke. / He stopped smoking.
  152. I saw him go up the stairs. / I saw him going up the stairs.
  153. I recommend waiting
  154. I recommend you to wait
  155. I did it and now I remember /I remember posting the letter/
  156. Please remember to post the letter/
  157. I am sorry about what I did /I regret saying it/
  158. I´m sorry that I have to…/We regret to inform you…/
  159. He went on talking
  160. After discussing it he went on to talk about economy/
  161. Try pressing the button
  162. I tried to move the table
  163. The floor needs cleaning
  164. I need to take more exercise
  165. I would like to have done something = I regret I couldn´t do it.
  166. I enjoyed living in France
  167. I fancy seeing a film tonight
  168. We discussed going on holiday together
  169. I dislike waiting for buses
  170. We've finished preparing for the meeting
  171. I don't mind coming early
  172. He suggested staying at the Grand Hotel
  173. They recommended meeting earlier
  174. He kept working, although he felt ill
  175. She avoided talking to her boss.
  176. She agreed to give a presentation at the meeting
  177. I asked to leave early / I asked him to leave early
  178. We decided to go out for dinner
  179. He helped to clean the kitchen / he helped his flatmate to clean the kitchen
  180. She plans to buy a new flat next year
  181. I hope to pass the exam
  182. They are learning to sing
  183. I want to come to the party / I want him to come to the party
  184. I would like to see her tonight / I would like you to see her tonight
  185. We promised not to be
  186. She misses living near the beach
  187. I appreciated her helping
  188. He delayed doing his taxes.
  189. He postponed returning to Paris
  190. She practised singing the song.
  191. She considered moving to New York.
  192. He can't stand her smoking in the office.
  193. He can't help talking so loudly.
  194. He risked being
  195. He admitted cheating on the test.
  196. We can't afford to go on holiday.
  197. He managed to open the door without the key.
  198. They prepared to take the test / the teachers prepared the students to take the test.
  199. He demanded to speak to Mr. Harris.
  200. I chose to help.
  201. Frank offered to drive us to the supermarket.
  202. She waited to buy a movie ticket.
  203. I'd hate to be late / I'd hate you to be
  204. I'd love to come / I'd love him to come.
  205. Nancy seemed to be
  206. He denied committing the crime.
  207. He mentioned going to that college.
  208. He imagines working there one day.
  209. I tolerated her talking.
  210. I understand his quitting.
  211. The job involves travelling to Japan once a month.
  212. He completed renovating the house.
  213. He reported her stealing the money.
  214. I anticipated arriving
  215. Tom recalled using his credit card at the store.
  216. They expect to arrive early / they expect Julie to arrive early
  217. We intend to visit you next spring.
  218. The child pretended to be a monster.
  219. The guard refused to let them enter the building.
  220. He tends to be a little shy.
  221. I'd prefer to do it / I'd prefer him to do
  222. He deserves to go to jail.
  223. His health appeared to be
  224. Naomi arranged to stay with her cousin in Miami.
  225. She claimed to be a princess.
  226. I remember going to the beach when I was a child. (= I have a memory of going to the beach).
  227. He remembers closing the door. (= He has a memory of closing the door).
  228. I remembered to buy milk. (= I was walking home and the idea that I needed milk came into my head, so I bought some).
  229. She remembered to send a card to her grandmother.
  230. Have we really studied this topic before? I forget reading about it.
  231. I told my brother that we'd spent Christmas at Granny's house in 1985, but he'd forgotten going there.
  232. I forgot to call my mother. (= I wanted to call my mother, but when it was a good time to call her, I forgot. I was thinking about something else, and the idea to call my mother didn't come into my head).
  233. She keeps forgetting to bring his book back.
  234. I wanted to stop smoking, so I tried using nicotine patches. (= Using nicotine patches was easy, but I wanted to know if it would help me stop smoking).
  235. She tried giving up chocolate, but it didn't help her lose weight. (It was easy for her to give up chocolate. She gave it up to see if it would help her lose weight, but it didn't).
  236. I tried to lift the suitcase, but it was too heavy.
  237. She tried to catch the bus, but she couldn't run fast enough.
  238. I tried giving up chocolate (it was no problem to stop eating chocolate) but it didn't make me feel more healthy.
  239. I tried to give up chocolate, but it was too hard. I always ate some when my friends offered it to me.
  240. It was too hot in the room. I tried opening the window (it was easy to open the window). It didn't help though, because it was very hot outside too.
  241. I tried to open the window, but I couldn't because it was stuck.
  242. I stopped working when I was expecting a baby. (Working is the thing I stopped).
  243. My grandmother stopped driving when she was 85. (Driving is the thing she stopped).
  244. My boss came into the room, so I stopped browsing the internet.
  245. There was a fire alarm, so I stopped eating and went outside.
  246. I stopped to eat lunch. (I stopped something else, maybe working or studying, because I wanted to eat lunch.
  247. She was shopping and she stopped to get a cup of coffee. (She stopped shopping because she wanted to get a cup of coffee).
  248. I stopped smoking. (I gave up cigarettes OR I threw away my cigarette at that moment).
  249. I stopped to smoke. (I stopped doing something else because I wanted to have a cigarette).
  250. I regret going to bed so late. I'm really tired today.
  251. She regrets leaving school when she was sixteen. She wishes that she had studied more and then gone to university.
  252. I regret to tell you that the train has been delayed.
  253. The company regrets to inform employees that the London office will close next year.
  254. 'I learnt to swim in Portugal last summer.'
  255. 'I expect to get high marks in this exam because I put in a lot of work for it.'
  256. 'I hope to recover in time for my business trip to Thailand in August.'
  257. 'We asked them to show us the way.'
  258. 'He advised me to drive more slowly through the village.'
  259. 'I told him to be quiet.'
  260. 'I can't help feeling that it's going to rain before we get home.'
  261. 'I feel like stopping work now and coming back to it later. '
  262. 'Do you mind not talking in here? Speaking is not allowed in the library.'
  263. 'He admitted taking the bribe and leaking the documents to the press.'
  264. 'I always enjoy listening to Mozart whenever I'm feeling stressed.'
  265. 'She finished cleaning the floor and then she hoovered the room.'
  266. 'I look forward to hearing from you.'
  267. 'I prevented him from stealing the painting.'
  268. 'I like to read in the bath.'
  269. 'I like reading in the bath.'
  270. 'I continued to work till Sally came in and then we had supper.'
  271. 'I continued working till Sally came in and then we had supper.'
  272. 'I stopped smoking when I married Joan.' = I gave up smoking when I married Joan.
  273. 'I stopped to smoke a cigarette.' = I stopped what I was doing in order to smoke a cigarette.
  274. 'She has decided to model clothes for both the English and the Italian fashion houses this year.'
  275. 'She decided modelling was the best career for her.'
  276. 'I decided smoking was bad for me.'
  277. I love to go shopping.
  278. I love going shopping.
  279. I'm afraid to fly.
  280. I'm afraid of flying.
  281. I started to learn English 5 years ago.
  282. I started learning English 5 years ago.
  283. Smoking is forbidden.
  284. I have a long working day.
  285. I don't like dancing.
  286. Marketing is a very inexact science.
  287. The marketing of the product will continue for a few months yet.
  288. Speaking to an audience is always stressful.
  289. Swimming after work is very relaxing.
  290. I'm angry about his missing the meeting.
  291. Do you mind my coming?
  292. I was met by a welcoming party at the airport.
  293. Let's go to the meeting room.
  294. Before leaving, you need to speak to Sarah.
  295. After discussing it with her, I've changed my mind.
  296. Instead of feeling sorry for yourself, do some work for charity.
  297. I don't object to working this Sunday.
  298. I'm looking forward to seeing him again.
  299. I'm used to working long hours.
  300. I admit telling her.
  301. I appreciate having the raise.
  302. I avoid speaking to him.
  303. I consider blowing your nose in public to be wrong.
  304. I delayed coming until the last possible moment.
  305. He denied telling her.
  306. I detest going to parties.
  307. I enjoy dancing.
  308. I feel like having a party.
  309. I've finished writing the report.
  310. I've given up going to the gym.
  311. I can't help thinking about it.
  312. I can't imagine ever leaving this company.
  313. I don't mind doing that.
  314. He put off talking to her as long as he could.
  315. I can't stand drinking beer.
  316. I stopped smoking last month. (I no longer smoke.)
  317. I stopped to smoke a cigarette. (I stopped what I was doing and had a cigarette.)
  318. I remember telling him. (A memory of the past.)
  319. I must remember to tell him. (Something to remember for the future.)
  320. I'm interested in finding out more details. (Interested about the future.)
  321. I was interested to read his report. (Interested in the past.)
  322. I prefer to travel by car. - or - I prefer travelling by car.
  323. Anna loves to - or - Anna loves dancing
  324. Do you like to get up early? - or - Do you like getting up early?
  325. He remembered travelling to Canada. (He has traveled to Canada, and now remembers that.)
  326. He remembered to travel to Canada. (He was supposed to go to Canada, and then he did.)
  327. She stopped dancing. (She never danced again.)
  328. She stopped to dance. (She interrupted an activity to begin dancing.)
  329. I was getting up earlier last week. (The getting up already heppened.)
  330. I want to get up (The getting up hasn't happened yet.)
  331. Have you tried changing your diet? (Have you experimented different foods?)
  332. Have you tried to change your diet? (Have you made an effort to change what you eat?)
  333. I stopped asking him about his son. (I didn't ask any more questions about his son.)
  334. I stopped to ask him about his son. (I stopped what I was doing because I wanted to ask him about his son.)
  335. Please remember to switch the lights off. (Don't forget to do this.)
  336. I remember switching the lights off. (I've done this and I remember this fact.)
  337. At about one o' clock in the morning I heard my daughter unlock the door and come in.
  338. At about one in the morning I heard my daughter unlocking the door and coming in.
  339. I watched my brother scrape the ice off the car windscreen.
  340. I watched my brother scraping the ice off the car windscreen.
  341. As I passed their classroom, I could hear them whispering
  342. At the party, I heard Sue whisper to Tom: "Let's get our of here before Barry arrives."
  343. I watched Henman play Hewitt in the men's singles semi-final at Wimbledon
  344. I saw them playing in the garden, but I didn't take much notice.
  345. She was heard to mutter "I shall never forgive you" as she went out of the room.
  346. Everybody heard her mutter "I shall never forgive you" as she left the room.
  347. He was seen climbing out of the window.
  348. They all saw him climbing out of the window.
  349. I made him wait. I had no intention of speaking to him while he was in such a foul mood.
  350. She didn't want to do it, but he made her do it.
  351. She doesn't speak English very well but she can make herself understood in most situations.
  352. There was so much noise at the party that I had to shout all the time to make myself heard.
  353. He had done so badly that he was made to repeat the school year.
  354. He had borrowed over five hundred pounds and was made to pay it back in monthly installments.
  355. Let me carry that box of papers for you. It's very heavy.
  356. Why don't you let him walk home by himself from school now? He's eleven years old after all
  357. Let's finish the video tomorrow, shall we? I'm tired and I want to go to bed.
  358. Let's not be late home tonight. It's Monday tomorrow after all.
  359. Don't let's get too stressed about this. I know the car is damaged, but it's only a piece of metal.
  360. Let me bake the cakes for the party.
  361. Allow me / permit me to bake the cakes for the party.
  362. I would never let him smoke in the bedroom.
  363. I would never allow him / permit him to smoke in the bedroom.
  364. I wasn't allowed to pay for my meal. Tony insisted on inviting me.
  365. Young children should not be allowed / permitted to watch television after nine o' clock.
  366. She decided to study biology, not physics.
  367. Can you help me to carry these boxes?
  368. Can you help me carry these boxes?
  369. We hope to hear from you soon.
  370. I hope it doesn’t rain this weekend.
  371. She’s learning to swim.
  372. I’m learning how to cook.
  373. I need to go to the supermarket. We don’t have any eggs.
  374. My friend offered to take me to the airport.
  375. We’re planning to have a big party when our son graduates from college.
  376. He pretended to be sick so that he didn’t have to take the test.
  377. He promised to call me back as soon as possible.
  378. I’m trying to read this book, but it’s too difficult.
  379. I want to learn English so that I can study in the U.S.
  380. I’d like to travel to France someday.
  381. Remember to bring your dictionary tomorrow!
  382. Don’t forget to pay the rent next week.
  383. You should avoid eating after 10 PM.
  384. I enjoy skiing, surfing, and playing tennis.
  385. Have you finished reading the newspaper yet?
  386. I can’t stand going to parties where I don’t know anyone.
  387. I don’t mind working overtime.
  388. I look forward to seeing you next week.
  389. I need to practice speaking English more often.
  390. My roommate spends hours watching TV.
  391. He stopped smoking ten years ago.
  392. I suggest taking some time off.
  393. I remember having dinner with my grandparents every Sunday when I was a child.
  394. I’ll never forget eating lobster for the first time – it was delicious!
  395. The baby started to cry. = The baby started crying.
  396. I like to run. = I like running.
  397. I hate doing laundry. (this form is probably more common) = I hate to do laundry.
  398. We love reading. = We love to read.
  399. Reading helps you learn English. subject of sentence
  400. Her favorite hobby is reading. complement of sentence
  401. I enjoy reading. object of sentence
  402. He enjoys not working.
  403. The best thing for your health is not smoking.
  404. To learn is important. subject of sentence
  405. The most important thing is to learn. complement of sentence
  406. He wants to learn. object of sentence
  407. I decided not to go.
  408. The most important thing is not to give up.
  409. Learning is important. normal subject
  410. To learn is important. abstract subject - less common
  411. The most important thing is learning. normal complement
  412. The most important thing is to learn. abstract complement - less common
  413. He enjoys swimming. "Enjoy" requires a gerund.
  414. He wants to swim. "Want" requires an infinitive.
  415. She suggested going to a movie.
  416. Mary keeps talking about her problems.
  417. She wants to go to a movie.
  418. Mary needs to talk about her problems.
  419. She clung to the bottom of the bridge trying to resist the swift current.
  420. The family cowered in their basement hoping the tornado would change directions.
  421. The mountain lion crouched on a bolder watching the deer walk by below.
  422. The monkey hung in the tree chewing on the ripened fruit.
  423. Tom leaned against the wall resting a few moments before he continued on.
  424. He lay in bed thinking about the day's events.
  425. She always sits on the couch watching TV.
  426. Nancy stood at the corner looking up and down the street.
  427. He had some problems reading without his glasses.
  428. She had a difficult time hiking up the mountain.
  429. They had a good time snorkeling.
  430. She had a hard time explaining the situation.
  431. Debbie had a problem understanding his accent.
  432. She had an easy time selling the delicious cookies.
  433. Wanda had difficulty translating the letter by herself.
  434. The had fun skiing.
  435. They had no difficulty finding a discount flight to London.
  436. Francis had no problem getting from the airport to the hotel.
  437. He always spends his time working out at the gym.
  438. She always wastes her time playing video games.
  439. His advice to continue was good.
  440. The appeal to reduce pollution was ineffective.
  441. Her attempt to locate them was unsuccessful.
  442. In Britain, you will have a chance to improve your English.
  443. The decision to increase taxes was not popular.
  444. His desire to get a good job motivated him.
  445. Her dream to become an actress was never realized.
  446. His goal to run a marathon seemed unrealistic.
  447. Her motivation to enter university impressed them.
  448. Bob's need to be the center of attention was irritating.
  449. The opportunity to live in New York interested Sandra.
  450. They followed the general's order to retreat.
  451. Permission to enter the area was difficult to get.
  452. Sandy's plan to move to Madrid bothered her parents.
  453. NASA's preparations to launch on Monday moved forward.
  454. Her proposal to host the party impressed the committee.
  455. His recommendation to close the school upset the community.
  456. Debra's refusal to help did not go unnoticed.
  457. Her reminder to review the vocabulary helped me pass the test.
  458. Their request to participate was granted.
  459. Their requirement to speak four languages was unreasonable.
  460. His suggestion to leave seemed like a good idea.
  461. His tendency to tap his desk during a test annoyed me.
  462. Her wish to be treated normally was respected.
  463. One way to improve your English is to read novels
  464. He was amazed to discover the truth.
  465. She was anxious to start her new job.
  466. He was ashamed to admit he had lied.
  467. She is bound to be elected class president.
  468. They were careful not to reveal the winner of the prize until the end.
  469. She is certain to get the job.
  470. The student was content to receive second place in the competition.
  471. We were delighted to be invited to the wedding.
  472. He was determined to finish the marathon.
  473. He was eager to begin.
  474. They were not eligible to participate in the program.
  475. She was fortunate to receive the research grant.
  476. I would be glad to help out.
  477. She was happy to see them at the party.
  478. Mary was hesitant to say anything.
  479. The mountain climber is liable to hurt himself if he doesn't use well-made equipment.
  480. They are likely to show up at any time.
  481. You were lucky to have such an opportunity.
  482. I am pleased to meet you.
  483. He was proud to have been chosen to lead the project.
  484. I'm ready to go now.
  485. The witness was reluctant to reveal what he had seen.
  486. She was really sad to leave.
  487. He was shocked to discover the truth.
  488. I am sorry to have to tell you that the tickets are sold out.
  489. She was surprised to discover that he had never learned how to swim
  490. He can't bear being alone.
  491. He can't bear to be alone.
  492. Nancy can't stand working the late shift.
  493. Nancy can't stand to work the late shift.
  494. The government ceased providing free health care.
  495. The government ceased to provide free health care.
  496. She continued talking.
  497. She continued to talk.
  498. He hates cleaning dishes.
  499. He hates to clean dishes.
  500. Samantha likes reading.
  501. Samantha likes to read.
  502. We love scuba diving.
  503. We love to scuba dive.
  504. He neglected doing his daily chores.
  505. He neglected to do his daily chores.
  506. He prefers eating at 7 PM.
  507. He prefers to eat at 7 PM.
  508. Drew proposed paying for the trip.
  509. Drew proposed to pay for the trip
  510. The teacher enjoys teaching.
  511. The teacher wants to teach.
  512. Smith is really enjoying teaching his class.
  513. Smith would like to be teaching his class.
  514. The students enjoy being taught.
  515. The students want to be taught.
  516. The retired teacher recalled having taught.
  517. The teacher was expecting to have taught that already.
  518. The students are enjoying being taught by such an exciting new teacher.
  519. The students would like to be being taught by Mr Smith.
  520. The older students recalled having been taught that already.
  521. The students were expecting to have been taught that by now
  522. She began singing.
  523. She began to sing.
  524. She is beginning to sing.
  525. She dreaded taking the test.
  526. He dreaded to think of the consequences of his actions.
  527. She forgot reading the book when she was a kid.
  528. She forgot to pay the rent this month.
  529. She kept talking.
  530. The attackers kept hostages to prevent the police from entering.
  531. The house needs cleaning.
  532. He needs to call his boss.
  533. He needs him to call his boss.
  534. I regretted being late to the interview.
  535. We regret to inform you that your position at the company is being eliminated.
  536. I remember mentioning the meeting yesterday.
  537. He remembered to turn off the lights before he left.
  538. Marge started talking really fast.
  539. Marge started to talk really fast.
  540. Marge is starting to talk really fast.
  541. I started to learn Russian, but it was so much work that I finally quit the class.
  542. He stopped smoking for health reasons.
  543. He stopped to rest for a few minutes.
  544. She can't find a job. She tried looking in the paper, but there was nothing. She tried asking friends and family, but nobody knew of anything. She also tried going shop to shop, but nobody was hiring.
  545. She tried eating the snake soup, but she didn't like it.
  546. She tried to climb the tree, but she couldn't even get off the ground.
  547. Try not to wake the baby when you get up tomorrow at 5 AM.
  548. His addiction to surfing the Internet is a problem.
  549. He has the advantage of speaking English fluently.
  550. Her anxiety about speaking in public caused her to lose the job.
  551. His belief in not harming animals was something he learned from his mother.
  552. She took credit for improving the filing system.
  553. His dedication to teaching was impressive.
  554. The delay in processing the visa caused problems.
  555. His devotion to biking allowed him to win the competition.

 

komment

Címkék: angol nyelvtan példamondatok középfok gerund infinitive

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://bsnyelvtanfolyam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr558249424

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása