Brain Storming nyelvtanulási segédletei

BRAIN STORMING három évtizedes nyelvoktatási és fordítói tapasztalata és gyakorlata által kiérlelt módszerek és segédletek tárháza.

Bejegyzések

Friss topikok

Címkék

Címkefelhő

Access to English - Getting on - 12 - A man comes for the television - (text)

2013.03.07. 09:32 aforizmágus

Mrs Harrison and Mr Smithers were very disappointed that the television had broken down just when Arthur was about to answer his questions. Worst of all they did not know whether Arthur had won a prize or not, because they were not able to see the programme.

So they waited for Arthur to arrive but he did not come home until 12.30 a.m. When he finally got home he was able to tell them what had happened in the quiz. First of all the quizmaste had asked him what the longest river in the world was. Arthur had told him that it was the Nile, and this, of course, was the right answer. Then he was asked what language they spoke in Brazil, and Arthur said that it was Portuguese. Before the quizmaster asked Arthur the last question he talked to him about his job. He asked Arthur if he was married or if he had a girlfriend. At this question Arthur wasn't able to say anything. He blushed and become embarrassed. So the quizmaster quickly asked the final question, which was: 'Which English kind had six wives?' Of course, Arthur was able to answer this question - he told the quizmaster and the audience that it was Henry VIII.

Then the quizmaster told Arthur to choose an envelope. He chose number eight. At this point both Arthur and the audience were very nervous. The quizmaster opened the envelope and read the piece of paper inside. It said that Arthur had won the holiday for two on the Costra Brava. The audience clapped and cheered. After this the television company gave Arthur and the other contestants a dinner and then Arthur said goodbye, and left for home.

Arthur drove down the motorway and was home fairly soon. Mrs Harrison asked him who he was going to take on the free holiday with him. Arthur said that he didn't know.

The following morning was Saturday and Mrs Harrison rang up the TV repair company and asked them to send a repair man to the house. Arthur told Mrs Harrison that he would be in. He and Mr Smithers were having their breakfast when the front doorbell rang.

***

- There's the bell. Will you go or shall I?

- I'll do it, Mr Smithers. I wonder who it is.

- I've come for the television, sir.

- Ah, yes. It's in here. When do you think we'll have it back? I want to watch the sport this afternoon.

- Yes. So do I.

- Well, I can't say really. We'll be as quick as we can. Cheerio.

- Goodbye. Well, I must say they've been very quick. I didn't expect him round so early.

- Neither did I. Mrs Harrison only phoned half an hour ago. Well, I hope they do send it back today.

- Yes, otherwise we'll be without the telly for the whole weekend and I don't want to miss the midnight movie tonight.

- Neither do I and nor does Mrs Harrison. Do you want another cup of tea, Arthur?

- No, thanks. I must tidy up my bedroom before Mrs Harrison gets back.

- Ah, yes, so must I. She doesn't like it if you leave your room in a mess.

***

- Oh, my feet do hurt. Oh, hallo, Arthur. I see the television man's been.

- Yes, he came very quickly, actually.

- That's good. Have you tidied your room?

- Yes, I have, and so has Mr Smithers,

- I've got some chops for your lunch. I like chops.

- So do I, if they're not burnt.

- Ah, there's the doorbell. I expect it's the milkman. Can you pay him, Arthur? My purse is over there.

- Yes, I've got it. … Yes?

- Good morning, sir. Does Mrs harrison live here?

- Yes, that's right.

- I'm from the Middleford Television Service Company. I've come to repair the TV set. … Am I too early?

Szólj hozzá!

Címkék: angol angol tananyag középfok gyakorló szöveg getting on

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://bsnyelvtanfolyam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr555121025

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása