Brain Storming nyelvtanulási segédletei

BRAIN STORMING három évtizedes nyelvoktatási és fordítói tapasztalata és gyakorlata által kiérlelt módszerek és segédletek tárháza.

Bejegyzések

Friss topikok

Címkék

Címkefelhő

Access to English - Starting out - 8 - STUCK ON THE STATION (text)

2013.03.02. 23:07 aforizmágus

In fact Arthur has no twin brother but he has a father, a mother and a teenage sister, Jennifer. Arthur’s father is a doctor in a village in Berkshire called Applefield. It’s a small village with no many people and it’s only a few miles from reading. Arthur’s parents have a small house between the church and the village pub.

It’s Thursday morning in Middleford and Arthur’s in the kitchen. He isn’t late today - he’s early. This morning he has time for breakfast. It’s only half past seven and so he can have a lot of things for breakfast.

Now Mrs Harrison’s bringing in the post. There aren’t many letters this morning; there are only two - one for Mrs Harrison and one for Arthur. Arthur’s letter is from his parents. There’s a party at Arthur’s parents’ house on Sturday. It’s Jennifer’s birthday and she’s seventeen; so Arthur must go home for the weekend.

Arthur is now taking his wallet out of his pocket. How much money is there in it? There isn’t very much - in fact there’s very little. How much is the fare to Applefield? It’s 2 pounds 20 return and 1 pound 10 single. He must pay Mrs Harrison and he must pay about 3 pounds for Jennifer’s birthday present.

***

Arthur is at the booking office at Middleford Town station.

- A single to Applefield, please. How much is that?

- It’s 1 pound 10.

- Which platform is it?

- It’s platform four. You must change at Reading.

- Thanks very much. Goodbye.

- Hey! Your change!

- Oh, sorry. Thanks a lot.

***

- Oh dear, this train is full. I can’t find an empty seat at all. There aren’t any seats in this compartment … and there aren’t any in this one either … and this one’s full too. I must try the next carriage … This one isn’t too bad and this compartment’s almost empty. There’s only one girl in it … Excuse me, is this seat free?

- No, I’m afaid not. That’s my friend’s seat but there’s lots of room here. All these seats are free.

- Oh, good. By the way, this is the Reading train, isn’t it?

- That’s right. My friend and I are going there. Ah, here she is.

- Mary! What are you doing here?

- Oh, hallo, Arthur. This is my friend, Sheila. We're going to her aunt's in Applefield.

- Well, isn't that funny? I'm going there too. My father's the doctor there, actually. It's my sister's birthday tomorrow.

- Oh, how many brothers and sisters have you got?

- Only Jennifer. I haven't got any brothers. Ah, good. The train's leaving.

- That's good. How many stops are there before Reading?

- Oh, there aren't many. There are only a few becuse this is a fast train. But there are a lot of stops on the one from Reading to Applefield.

- Is there a buffet car on this train, Arthur?

- No, there isn't one on this train, unfortunately.

- Oh, isn't there? Oh dear, I must have a cup of tea soon.

- Yes, I'm thirsty too … Look, we're stopping and there's a buffet on the platform. Arthur?

- Yes?

- We must have some tea.

- Oh, must I go? Oh, all right. Sugar?

- Not for me, but lots for Sheila.

***

Now Arthur is at the buffet on the platform.

- Three teas, please … Can you hurry, please?

- I've only got one pair of hands.

- Oh God! The train's leaving! And my bag's on the train; my coat's on the train and my ticket's in my overcoat pocket and …

- Here are your teas.

Szólj hozzá!

Címkék: angol angol tananyag alapfok gyakorló szöveg starting out

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://bsnyelvtanfolyam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr895113888

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása