Brain Storming nyelvtanulási segédletei

BRAIN STORMING három évtizedes nyelvoktatási és fordítói tapasztalata és gyakorlata által kiérlelt módszerek és segédletek tárháza.

Bejegyzések

Friss topikok

Címkék

Címkefelhő

Access to English - Starting out - 9 - JENNIFER’S BIRTHDAY PARTY (text)

2013.03.02. 23:09 aforizmágus

Poor Arthur! He has three cups of tea and he doesn’t like tea very much. Poor Sheila and Mary! They like tea and they haven’t got any.

Now Arthur is talking to the porter.

- What time is the next train?

- The next one’s in an hour.

 ***

After a miserable journey Arthur is now at home in Applefield. It is Saturday evening and Jennifer is welcoming her guests to her party. Like many young girls today, Jennifer and her friends often wear jeans and sweaters at parties. They don’t always wear pretty dresses. There is a record on the record-player. Young people usually listen to records, dance and of course eat and drink at parties.

Arthur’s parents, Dr and Mrs Newton, are not here this evening. Thes don’t like young people’s parties very much. They are having dinner with their friends, Mr and Mrs Lester. Mr Lester works for a large engineering firm in London.

Now Sheila is coming in and, yes, Mary is with her. Jennifer knows Sheila because she often comes to Applefield. But Mary doesn’t know any of the people here except Sheila and, of course, Arthur.

 ***

- Hallo, Bob. Nice to see you. Is that for me? What is it?

- Open it and see. Happy birthday, Jennifer.

- Thanks … Oh, look, it’s a necklace. That’s very kind of you, Bob. Do you know my brother Arthur?

- No, hallo, Arthur? What do you do?

- Well, I work in a library - in Middleford.

- Have you got a flat there?

- No, I live in digs. I don’t like it very much. My landlady, Mrs Harrison, cooks awful meals. I only eat good food here. My mother’s a good cook. What do you do?

- I’m a student. I’m at Reading University.

- Hallo, Arthur. I don’t know many people here. Who are you talking to?

- Oh, hallo, Mary. This is Bob. Bob, this is Mary.

- Hallo! Where do you come from?

- Excuse me a minute. Jennifer wants me.

- Arthur, say thank to Sheila. She’s got your bag and your overcoat.

- Oh, thank goodness. That’s nice of you, Sheila.

- Where’s my cup of tea, Arthur?

- Oh, no, I don’t want ot hear the words ‘cup of tea’ again!

- Yes, poor Arthur, I am sorry.

- So your aunt and uncle live in Applefield, do they? What’s their name?

- It’s Dawson.

- I think I know them. Does your uncle play cricket for the local team?

- Yes, that’s right.

- I sometimes see him in the summer. He plays quite well.

 ***

- Jennifer! Telephone!

- Coming … Applefield 5234 … Yes … No, he’s out. What? … Oh dear, he’s at Mr and Mrs Lester’s … Yes, I’ve got the number here … It’s Applefield 3972 … Arthur, come here. There’s an accident up the road. They must have a doctor.

Szólj hozzá!

Címkék: angol angol tananyag alapfok gyakorló szöveg starting out

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://bsnyelvtanfolyam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr235113892

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása