Brain Storming nyelvtanulási segédletei

BRAIN STORMING három évtizedes nyelvoktatási és fordítói tapasztalata és gyakorlata által kiérlelt módszerek és segédletek tárháza.

Bejegyzések

Friss topikok

Címkék

Címkefelhő

Access to English - Getting on - 2 - A NEW LODGER (text)

2013.03.04. 14:10 aforizmágus

The holiday is now over and Arthur is still a heavy smoker. He arrived back in Middleford on Sunday night, put his car away and walked into Mrs Harrison’s sitting-room.

There was a man sitting there; he was short and thin with old-fashioned glasses. He got up and introduced himself: - my name’s Smithers, Reginald Smithers. I’m Mrs Harrison’s new lodger.’

Then Mr Smithers told Arthur about himself. He was a clark at the Westland Bank in Middleford High street. This was Arthur’s bank. He was 55 years old and still a bachelor. He came to Middleford from Reading two months ago. His first landlady in Middleford was terrible. In fact she was an old dragon. She said things like: ‘You mustn’t do any washing in the bathroom. You must be in the house by 11 o’clock at night. You mustn’t play the radio or make a noise.’

The Mrs Harrison came in with a cup of coffee for Mr Smithers and one for herself. ‘Oh, hallo, Arthur,’ she said. ‘Did you have a good holiday? Shall i make a cup of coffee for you?’ ‘You needn’t bother about me,’ replied Arthur. I’ll make you one if you like,’ said Mrs Harrison. ‘Oh, I’m sorry. Have you intrduced yourself to Mr Smithers?’ ‘Yes, we’ve introduced ourselves,’ replied Arthur.

Just then the telephone rang. ‘Shall I answer it?’ said Arthur. ‘No, you needn’t get up,’ said Mrs Harrison. ‘It’s probably for me. I’ll go myself.’

A minute or two later Mrs Harrison came back into the room. 'I'm afraid that was bad news,' she said. 'My sister in London's ill in hospital. I must go and see her tomorrow evening. I'm afraid that you two must cook for yourselves tomorrow evening. You needn't worry. I'll peel the potatoes and leave you something else to cook. Oh, and will you feed the cat, please?'

At work in the library the following day, Arthur told mary about his holiday with his parents, and about Mrs harrison's new lodger. He also said: 'We're going to cook for ourselves this evening. Mrs Harrison won't be there. She's gone to see her sister in hospital.' 'I'll pop in some time in the evening if you like,' said Mary.

*** *** *** ***

- Mr Smithers! Are you in?

- Yes, I'm upstairs. Shall I come down?

- If you like, but you needn't come if you're busy … Now what shall I do first? Ah, here'S a note from Mrs H. It says there are some lamb chops and some frozen peas in the fridge and the potatoes are in the saucepan on the stove and the cat's dinner's in another saucepan. Ah, there you are, Mr Smithers. Well, will you do the cooking or shall I?

- Well, er …

- Look, I'll do the cooking and perhaps you can do the washing up.

- Er, have you done any cooking before?

- Yes, I've cooked for myself lots of times.

- Oh good. Shall I lay the table?

- Good idea. Now I mustn't forget to put salt in the potatoes. Now where are the matches? Have you got any matches, Mr Smithers?

- No, I'm sorry. They're upstairs in my room. Shall I get them for you?

- Never mind! I've just remembered - the stove's electric, not gas, so we don'T need any matches. Now, I'll put the potatoes on and then I'll put the chops under the grill. Right. That's done. Ah, there's the front door bell. I'll answer it, Mr Smithers …

- Hallo, Arthur.

- Oh, hallo, Mary. Come in.

- Are you really cooking for yourself tonight, Arthur? I must see this. How are you getting on?

- Oh, all right so far, I think.

- Oh, excuse me. I'm just going upstairs for a minute. It's time for the news. I mustn't miss it.

- Is that Mr Smithers?

- Yes.

- He's rather shy, isn't he?

- Yes, he doesn't talk much. Now why don't you go into the sitting-room and make yourself at home? Shall I make you a cup of tea or anything?

- No, I've just had one. Is there anything you want me to do?

- No, thanks, I'm doing all right by myself.

- Er, excuse me. I'm terribly sorry to intrude but there seems to be a smell of burning. It's coming from the kitchen.

- Oh dear, look at the smoke.

- Arthur, you're hopeless!

Szólj hozzá!

Címkék: angol angol tananyag középfok gyakorló szöveg getting on

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://bsnyelvtanfolyam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr335116174

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása