Brain Storming nyelvtanulási segédletei

BRAIN STORMING három évtizedes nyelvoktatási és fordítói tapasztalata és gyakorlata által kiérlelt módszerek és segédletek tárháza.

Bejegyzések

Friss topikok

Címkék

Címkefelhő

Access to English - Getting on - 3 - Money problems (text)

2013.03.04. 14:12 aforizmágus

The chops were completely ruined, so Mr Smithers and Arthur had to go out for their dinner. Arthur had to pay because he was responsible for the accident. Arthur was now completely broke again. He is very bad with money and never seems to have enough. This time he had less then usual and it was a long time till payday. He spent a lot during the Christmas holidays; he bought presents for all his family and for Mrs Harrison and Mary. He also had to buy a new battery and a new exhaust for his car.

January 16th is the seventy-fifth anniversary of the opening of Middleford Library, so this year they are having a party to celebrate the occasion. Arthur is not looking forward to it very much as Mary is bringing Bruce. Unlike Arthur, Bruce always seems to be well off. So Arthur has two reasons to be jelous of him. Arthur isn't taking anybody to the party himself. Arthur has only one suit and wears it to work every day. It's begining to look rather shabby. Everybody else is buying something new to wear for the occasion.

Another thing is - Arthur can't dance very well. At parties everybody else dances while Arthur just sits and looks miserable. Mr Steele, the chief librarian, is coming to the party with his wife. Arthur does not like him very much either. It is quite enough to see Mr Steele at work. He does not want to spend the whole evening under Mr Steele's eyes. He would like to be somewhere else.

On the Thursday before the party during his lunch hour, Arthur is walking along the High Street with Mary.

***

- Just a minute, Arthur. I want to look at these dresses. Which one do you like?

- Do you mean those over there?

- No, these here.

- I don't know really. They're a bit expensive, aren't they?

- Yes, but I like them. There's nothing good anywhere else. And I've got to have a new dress for the party on Tuesday. Which one shall I get?

- They both look very nice.

- Yes, but shall I get the green one or the red one?

- It's up to you. You must decide.

- Are you coming to the party, Arthur? You can bring a friend if you like. I'm bringing Bruce. Are you bringing anybody?

- I don't know really. I haven't thought about it. Shall I bring Mr Smithers? I can't think of anybody else?

- Oh, Arthur, you are a fool. Why don't you ask Sheila?

- Who?

- Sheila. Shall I ask her for you?

- Yes, if you like.

- She likes you a lot, actually.

- Oh, does she?

- Yes, don't you like her?

- Oh, I've just remembered. I've got to go into the bank now. Will you come with me or shall I see you in the Sunny Snack Bar?

- No, I think I'll go in and try the red dress on while you're in the bank.

- OK, see you in a minute then.

 ***

- Hallo, Mr Smihers.

- Oh, hallo, Arthur.

- Can I have it all in ones?

- Er, I won't keep you a moment.

- Why is he going round the back?

- Er, the manager wants to see you. Could you step into his office, please?

Szólj hozzá!

Címkék: angol angol tananyag középfok gyakorló szöveg getting on

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://bsnyelvtanfolyam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr335116177

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása