Brain Storming nyelvtanulási segédletei

BRAIN STORMING három évtizedes nyelvoktatási és fordítói tapasztalata és gyakorlata által kiérlelt módszerek és segédletek tárháza.

Bejegyzések

Friss topikok

Címkék

Címkefelhő

Access to English - Getting on - 5 - Problems of the heart (text)

2013.03.04. 14:32 aforizmágus

The news was a surprise to everybody at the party. The only person who wasn't pleased about it was Arthur, of course. Everybody admired the ring that Bruce gave mary. It was a large diamond in a platinum setting - the kind you don't often see these days. Arthur was one of the few people who did not congratulate Bruce.

Bruce and Mary left quite early and by ten o'clock the only people who were left were Scheila, Arthur and Mr and Mrs Steele. Mrs Steele asked Arthur to help her collect all the dirty glasses and plates. Sheila then helped Mrs Steele to do the washing up but first she ate a few of the sandwiches that were left. She offered some to Arthur but he was not hungry. Arthur helped Mr Steele to move the chairs and tables.

They were all working very hard and Mr Steele was surprised to see Arthur so busy. Normally Arthur is a young man who doesn't like hard work - or at least that is what Mr Steele thinks.

By half past ten everything was tidy again and Mr Steele thanked Sheila and Arthur for their help and left with his wife. Arthur put the lights out and locked up. Then he helped Sheila put her coat on. 'What shall we do now, Arthur?' she said. Arthur wanted to be alone, so he made an excuse and said, 'There are some letters I have to go write, actually. I'm terribly sorry but I really have to do them tonight. I'll drive you home if you like.' So they walked to the car park at the back of the library and got into Arthur's car.

***

- Now where do you live, Sheila? I've forgotten.

- It's quite near you, actually. It's just off the road that goes to the football ground. I'll tell you when we get there.

- It it near those new blocks of flats they're building?

- Yes, that's right. It's just past them on the right. … I am looking forward to Mary's wedding, aren't you?

- Not particularly.

- What's the matter? You aren't very cheerful this evening. Didn't you enjoy the party? I thought it was fun.

- It was all right, I suppose.

- I didn't know about Bruce and Mary before - their engagement, I mean. Did you see her ring?

- No, I didn't look.

- It was one of the nicest rings I've ever seen - a lovely big diamond. Does Bruce make a lot of money, do you think?

- Probably. If all the cars he sells are like the one he sold me, I'm not surprised.

- I think your car's very nice, Arthur.

- Well, the money I've spent on it! I'm completely broke this month. I had to see the bank manager the other day.

- Well, money isn't everything. And Bruce isn't my type anyway. You're more my type - honest and serious - only you look so sad. Do cheer up! What's the matter with you tonight?

- Well, if you must know, Sheila, I'm rather keen on Mary myself and I know she won't be happy with that Bruce… Is this your turning, Sheila? Sheila? Why are you crying?

- Stop the car, Arthur! I want to get out.

- But …

- Good night, Arthur!

- Well, what's the matter with her?

Szólj hozzá!

Címkék: angol angol tananyag középfok gyakorló szöveg getting on

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://bsnyelvtanfolyam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr545116214

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása