Brain Storming nyelvtanulási segédletei

BRAIN STORMING három évtizedes nyelvoktatási és fordítói tapasztalata és gyakorlata által kiérlelt módszerek és segédletek tárháza.

Bejegyzések

Friss topikok

Címkék

Címkefelhő

Access to English - Getting on - 17 - The trial (text)

2013.03.07. 12:23 aforizmágus

During the next few weeks the newspapers were full of the case of Bruce and the bank robbery. First he was brought before the Magistrates's Court and charged with armed robbery together with four other men. The court was so full that many people were turned away and could not get into the court.

Fanshawe, Brown, Elkins, James and Robinson in Court. - Westland Bank Robbery - Uxbridge magistrates' Court was packed this morning when Bruce Stewart Fanshawe, car salesman, 31, of Middleford, Alfred Henry Brown, unemployed, 29, of no fixed address, Charles Edward Elkins, Company Director, 45, of Didcot, Peter Brian james, van driver, 27, of Middleford, William David Robinson, unemployed, 19, of Middleford were all charged with armed robbery at the Westland Bank, Middleford on 3rd January. the case against Fanshawe was taken first. Evidence of arrest was given by Chief Insp. Stacey of Middleford C.I.D. Reginald Smithers, bank Clerk, gave evidence that he recognized the accused, fanshawe, as one of the men who had held up the bank staff at gun point. mary Stephens, Fanshawe former fiancée, gave evidence that she had been given a ring by fanshawe, later idnetified as one of the items taken from the Westland bank.

Mr Smithers enjoyed giving evidence very much but Mary was so upset that she burst into tears in the court. They both had to appear twice, first at the Magistrates's Court and later at the trial before a judge and jury t the Central Criminal Court (or the Old Bailey, as it is called) in London. At the trial Bruce was found guilty and set to prison for eight years.

The Saturday after the trial was such a nice day, that Arthur rang Mary up and suggested a picnic and a drive into the country. Mary said she would come so Arthur picked her up at her house where he met Mary's parents for the first time. They invited him to come back for supper after they had returned from the country.

***

- I must say It's been a lovely day today. I'm so glad Mary's got someone to take her out. She's been having such a terrible time lately.

- Yes, I'm glad that business is all over at last. I hope she'll forget all about it now.

- I think Arthur's such a nice young man, don't you, George?

- Well, he's certainly better than that Bruce fanshawe. I hear he got eight years.

- Yes, I don't suppose we'll see him again. I hope not, anyway.

- Mm, I agree. Oh, that must be them now. Ha-ha, I don't think much of his car. It's a real old banger.

- Hallo, we've had such a lovely time, haven't we, Arthur?

- Yes, we went to the Cotswold.

- Oh, yes. What were the roads like?

- Well, we kept off the main roads and we didn't meet much traffic.

- Well, dinner's nearly ready. Perhaps you could give me a hand in the kitchen, Mary. George, why don't you offer Arthur a drink?

- What would you like, Arthur? Sherry?

- That'd do fine. Just a small one, please. I'm driving later on.

- I see Bruce Fanshawe got eight years. I can't say I'm sorry. I never liked him. I don't understand what Mary saw in him.

- I didn't like him either. I got that car of mine from him and I've had no end of trouble with it. I think I'll sell it and buy a better one.

- Mm, I don't think you'd get much for it if you did.

- Come on, you two. Dinner's ready.

***

- Well, I really must be going now. It's getting rather late. Anyway, thanks very much for a very pleasant evening. You're a very good cook, Mrs Stephens.

- I'll just see Arthur to the door.

- Well, goodnight everybody, and thanks again.

***

- Mm, it's getting late. I'll just go and put the car away, I think.

- Well, Mary, I think I'm for bed. Let's leave the washing up till the morning. After all, it is Sunday tomorrow.

- Yes, I'm rather tired myself. Oh, Mother, we had such a lovely day! It's funny. I used to think Arthur was such a bore.

- Do you really like him then, dear?

- Yes, i do. I think I love him, actually. This time I think it's the real thing.

Szólj hozzá!

Címkék: angol angol tananyag középfok gyakorló szöveg getting on

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://bsnyelvtanfolyam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr185121310

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása