Brain Storming nyelvtanulási segédletei

BRAIN STORMING három évtizedes nyelvoktatási és fordítói tapasztalata és gyakorlata által kiérlelt módszerek és segédletek tárháza.

Bejegyzések

Friss topikok

Címkék

Címkefelhő

Access to English - Getting on - 14 - Mary is upset - (text)

2013.03.07. 12:06 aforizmágus

The following monday Arthur got up early for a change. he looked out of his bedroom window and saw the sun shining brightly. 'If it were like this every morning,' he thought, 'I'd get up a six o'clock.'

While he was eating his breakfast, he kept on looking out of the window and thinking: 'If I didn't have to go to work this morning, it would be really great to go to the coast and sit in the sun - and if Mary were my girlfriend instead of Bruce's, she would come with me.'

But unfortunately, Arthur had to go to work. So he set off half an hour earlier than usual and arrived at the library before anybody else. The next to come was Mr Steele who thought, 'This must be a miracle. Arthur is actually the first here. If he came as early as thes every morning, he would get a lot more work done.'

Arthur began to get on with his work and by half past nine he had finished all the postcards he had to write. A little later he looked at his watch and saw it was a quarter to ten. Mary had still not arrived. He wondered whether she was ill or if she had taken the day off. But Mr Steele came in and asked him if he knew where mary was. 'If she were ill, she would telephone,' he said. 'It's not like her. She's usually the first to arrive.' Arthur said that he had no idea where Mary was. He didn't seen her since last Friday.

But at that moment the door opened and there was Mary. She was looking very pale and tired. She apologized to Mr Steele and explained that she had been awake most of the night. She hadn't got to sleep until five in the morning and had consequently overslept. Mr Steele was very kind and suggested that she should take the day off. She thanked him and said she would stay, but she hardly said a word for the rest of the morning. Arthur, on the other hand, was feeling cheerful so at one o'clock he suggested to Mary that they should go and have lunch together at the Sunny Snack Bar, and she agreed.

***

- Let's not sit here, Mary. It's rather hot, isn't it? If we sit over there, we'll be in the shade.

- Oh all right, if you like, Arthur.

- What's the matter with you today? You don't look very cheerful. Do you feel all right?

- As a matter of fact I'm a bit fed up, actually.

- Oh? Why's that then?

- Oh, it doesn't matter. You wouldn't be interested if I told you.

- Suit yourself … By the way, i saw Bruce on saturday. … What's the matter? Don't cry. Here, do you want to borrow my handkerchief?

- Thank you. I'm sorry to be so boring. It's just that I haven't seen Bruce for the whole weekend.

- Oh dear.

- Where did you see him? We'd arranged to meet for lunch on saturday. He didn't turn up and I haven't seen him since.

- Well, I saw him at the dentist's at about 11.30.

- Oh, did you? Well, I just can't understand it. I telephoned him hundreds of times but there was no reply.

- Oh, I shouldn't worry if I were you. There's pobably quite a simple explanation.

- Yes, i suppose so.

- Look, here's our lunch. Would you like some sauce?

***

- Well, thank you. You've cheered me up quite a lot. Look, I've just got to go to the jeweller's next door to get my ring back. If I wait until this evening, the shop will be closed.

- Would you mind if I came with you?

- No. Not at all.

***

- Good afternoon, madam. Can I help you?

- Yes, I brought my ring in to have it repaired last week. You said it'd be ready by Monday. Here's the ticket.

- Ah, yes, madam. Would you wait just a minute, please?

***

- What's happening? He's long time, isn't he?

- Excuse me, madam. We're police officers. Is this the ring you brought in last week?

- Yes, it's my engagement ring. What's this all about?

- Would you please come with us, madam? We'd like to ask you a few questions. And you, sir, if you please.

Szólj hozzá!

Címkék: angol angol tananyag középfok gyakorló szöveg getting on

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://bsnyelvtanfolyam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr355121276

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása