Brain Storming nyelvtanulási segédletei

BRAIN STORMING három évtizedes nyelvoktatási és fordítói tapasztalata és gyakorlata által kiérlelt módszerek és segédletek tárháza.

Bejegyzések

Friss topikok

Címkék

Címkefelhő

PAST CONTINUOUS - 260+ sample sentences

2015.10.06. 14:18 aforizmágus

past_continuous.gif

 

  1. You phoned while I was having a bath.
  2. When I got home yesterday, a cat was sitting on the roof.
  3. It started to rain just as we were getting ready to have our picnic.
  4. The boy was standing on the table when the principal came into the room.
  5. Many people were shopping in the market when the bomb exploded.
  6. I saw Noriko in town yesterday. She was wearing a pink dress and an orange hat!
  7. When I went to bed last night the sun was already beginning to rise.
  8. It was lucky we weren't sitting under that tree when the lightning hit.
  9. What were you doing when the lights went off last night?
  10. Were you watching me when I showed you how to do it?
  11. How fast was she driving when she had the accident?
  12. At this time last week I was lying on the beach in Florida.
  13. My mother was working in the garden so she didn't hear the telephone when I called her yesterday.
  14. I had my car fixed because it wasn't working
  15. Sorry, I wasn't listening. Can you say it again please?
  16. What were you doing at 8 o'clock yesterday?
  17. Why were you talking to John when I saw you in the cafeteria yesterday?
  18. I went to lunch too early. The food was still being (passive)
  19. You were studying when she called.
  20. Were you studying when she called?
  21. You were not studying when she called.
  22. I was watching TV when she called.
  23. When the phone rang, she was writing a letter.
  24. While we were having the picnic, it started to rain.
  25. What were you doing when the earthquake started?
  26. I was listening to my iPod, so I didn't hear the fire alarm.
  27. You were not listening to me when I told you to turn the oven off.
  28. While John was sleeping last night, someone stole his car.
  29. Sammy was waiting for us when we got off the plane.
  30. While I was writing the email, the computer suddenly went off.
  31. A: What were you doing when you broke your leg?
  32. B: I was snowboarding.
  33. Last night at 6 PM, I was eating
  34. At midnight, we were still driving through the desert.
  35. Yesterday at this time, I was sitting at my desk at work.
  36. Last night at 6 PM, I ate
  37. I started eating at 6 PM.
  38. Last night at 6 PM, I was eating
  39. I started earlier; and at 6 PM, I was in the process of eating dinner.
  40. I was studying while he was making
  41. While Ellen was reading, Tim was watching
  42. Were you listening while he was talking?
  43. I wasn't paying attention while I was writing the letter, so I made several mistakes.
  44. What were you doing while you were waiting?
  45. Thomas wasn't working, and I wasn't working
  46. They were eating dinner, discussing their plans, and having a good time.
  47. When I walked into the office, several people were busily typing, some were talking on the phones, the boss was yelling directions, and customers were waiting to be helped. One customer was yelling at a secretary and waving his hands. Others were complaining to each other about the bad service.
  48. She was always coming to class late.
  49. He was constantly talking. He annoyed everyone.
  50. I didn't like them because they were always complaining.
  51. I was studying when she called.
  52. While I was studying, she called.
  53. Jane was being at my house when you arrived. Not Correct - Jane was at my house when you arrived. Correct
  54. You were just studying when she called.
  55. Were you just studying when she called?
  56. The salesman was helping the customer when the thief came into the store. Active
  57. The customer was being helped by the salesman when the thief came into the store. Passive
  58. At 8pm, I was in the middle of watching TV.
  59. I was working at 10pm last night.
  60. They were not playing football at 9am this morning.
  61. What were you doing at 10pm last night?
  62. What were you doing when he arrived?
  63. She was cooking when I telephoned her.
  64. We were having dinner when it started to rain.
  65. Ram went home early because it was snowing.
  66. I was watching TV when you telephoned.
  67. They were waiting for the bus when the accident happened.
  68. Caroline was skiing when she broke her leg.
  69. When we arrived he was having a bath.
  70. When the fire started I was watching television.
  71. The children were growing up
  72. Her English was improving.
  73. My hair was going
  74. The town was changing - See more at:
  75. I was practising every day, three times a day.
  76. They were meeting secretly after school.
  77. They were always quarrelling. - See more at:
  78. My head was aching.
  79. Everyone was shouting.
  80. I was watching TV yesterday in the evening.
  81. She was sleeping on the couch.
  82. The dog was barking.
  83. I was talking with James when the telephone rang.
  84. While Angelica was playing tennis, the plane crashed.
  85. When Bob was painting windows, it started raining.
  86. I was watching TV and Barbara was reading a book.
  87. The family was eating the dinner and talking.
  88. When Bob was painting windows, Mary was working in the kitchen.
  89. I was wondering if you could open the window.
  90. I was thinking you might help me with this problem.
  91. She was always coming late for dinner!
  92. I was camping when I got stung by a bee.
  93. When I visited him in the hospital, he was snoring
  94. While he was reading the newspaper, he fell
  95. While I was talking to him, his eyes looked somewhere else.
  96. While my brother was laughing, my sister was crying.
  97. My father was drinking while my mother was eating.
  98. Grandma was knitting a sock at 11 o'clock last night.
  99. They were hunting wild boars all evening.
  100. I was collecting old newspapers. (I was in the middle of doing the collecting.
  101. The police sirens were wailing.
  102. "Are you catching a train to Timbuktu, Jack?" asked Jill. - Jill asked Jack if he was catching a train to Timbuktu
  103. The sun was shining after weeks of rain. The flowers were waving in the breeze.
  104. I forget your name. (NOT I am forgetting your name.)
  105. I forgot your name. (NOT I was forgetting your name.)
  106. He believes what I say. (NOT He is believing what I say.)
  107. We understood the instructions. (NOT We were understanding the instructions.)
  108. Do you hear that noise? (NOT: Are you hearing that noise?)
  109. Did you hear that noise? (NOT: Were you hearing that noise?)
  110. I understand the instructions. (NOT: I am understanding the instructions.)
  111. My house was being renovated so I stayed in a nearby hotel.
  112. They arrived while dinner was being prepared.
  113. Two women were fighting in the street when the police arrived. (The fighting started before the police arrived.)
  114. They were having a barbecue when the rain started (The rain fell when the barbecue was in progress.)
  115. When I woke up, my brother was brushing his teeth. (I woke up during his brushing his teeth.)
  116. When I woke up, my brother brushed his teeth. (I woke up, then my brother brushed his teeth.)
  117. He was bathing his pet puppy when I visited (He started the bathing before my visit and the bathing was in progress at the time of my visit.)
  118. He bathed his pet puppy when I visited (Two complete events: I visited him and then he bathed his pet.)
  119. When we reached there, it rained. Reaching there then raining started.
  120. When we reached there, it was raining. Reaching there when it was raining.
  121. He was writing a letter yesterday. (Letter was not finished yesterday.)
  122. He wrote a letter yesterday. (Completed the letter.)
  123. While Jill was reading a book, her mother was sleeping. (Two actions in progress simultaneously.)
  124. While I read a book, my mother slept. (Two complete events happened simultaneously.)
  125. My father was having a shave at 7 o'clock. (The shave started before 7 o'clock and was still in progress at 7 o'clock.)
  126. My father had a shave at 7 o'clock. (The shave started at 7 o'clock until completion.)
  127. They were watching television all night. (Watching television went on throughout the night.)
  128. They watched television all night. (Watching television from the beginning to the end of the night.)
  129. When she came in, I was dreaming. (She came in at the time of my dreaming.)
  130. She came in while I was dreaming. (She came in during my dreaming.)
  131. I was eating when Bob came. - I had eaten when Bob came.
  132. While I was doing my homework my telephone rang.
  133. What were you doing at this time yesterday?
  134. I was working abroad from January to February last year.
  135. When my mother arrived I was having dinner.
  136. I was talking to my father when you called me.
  137. At five pm yesterday I was shopping.
  138. While I was sleeping last night somebody stole my car.
  139. My parents were waiting for me when I got off the plane.
  140. At midnight I was still swotting English words.
  141. What were you doing while you were waiting for me?
  142. While I was riding my bicycle it started to rain.
  143. I was listening to music, so I didn't hear the bell.
  144. What were you doing when you broke your leg?
  145. I was sitting at my desk when I received your e-mail.
  146. You weren't paying attention while I was talking to you.
  147. While we were having dinner we were discussing our plans.
  148. What were you doing when the accident happened/occurred?
  149. I was sweeping the corridor when I found a golden ring.
  150. My mother was taking her dog for a walk when she sprained her ankle.
  151. While we were looking for the exit we lost our way.
  152. I was painting this picture all day yesterday.
  153. I was wrapping the presents when the children entered the room.
  154. John was prepering dinner when he cut his finger.
  155. While my father was reading a newspaper he fell asleep.
  156. I was doing exercises from 4 pm to 5 pm.
  157. An old lady stepped off the pavement when/while I was driving my car.
  158. I burnt my hand while I was frying potatoes.
  159. I was thumbing through/leafing through my dictionary when I found an old letter.
  160. I was rowing peacefully when I saw a catfish.
  161. I was exlpaining the English grammar when I saw one of my old friends.
  162. While I was repairing my bicycle I cut my finger.
  163. At this time last week I was eating my Christmass dinner.
  164. I was cooking meat-jelly from seven in the morning until noon.
  165. While I was taking my dog out for a walk I lost my latchkey.
  166. While I was waiting for the bus, I was talking to one of my friends.
  167. I was listening to my favourite song while I was eating a hamburger.
  168. I was driving your car when I saw a roe.
  169. I was travelling by taxi when I saw Antonio Banderas.
  170. At ten pm yesterday I was peeling potato.
  171. Why didn't you pick up the phone while I was trying to call you?
  172. While/When the mechanic was repairing my car, I was biting my nails.
  173. Who stole my coat while I was watching the movie?
  174. Who was shouting while I was cooking the lunch?
  175. At this time on Monday I was fishing.
  176. I got very nervous while my mother was explaining maths.
  177. At 7 o'clock on Sunday evening I was having dinner with one of my important business partners.
  178. When the police arrived, the burglar was trying to escape.
  179. While I was helping my wife to deliver our baby on the back seat, the taxidriver was driving unbelievaby fast.
  180. While I was coming up in the lift, I was typing/writing a text.
  181. Somebody was following me while I was coming here.
  182. I was rowing peacefully when I saw a huge shark.
  183. My mother was taking a shower when the pizza delivery boy arrived.
  184. I was sitting in the toilet when I ran out of the toilet paper.
  185. While we were dancing, the guests drank all the drinks.
  186. I was helping my parents all last week.
  187. I was riding a horse when a fireball appeared.
  188. I was mowing the lawn when I saw a wild boar approaching.
  189. He/She was making coffee when it started to rain.
  190. I was preparing for this contest all last year.
  191. My sister was fooling around while I was trying to read my favourite book.
  192. A lot of people was waiting for me when I got off the plane.
  193. I was trying to call the police when there was a power cut.
  194. I don't understand why you wanted to stop me while I was running.
  195. While I was listening my favourite song, it started to rain.
  196. I saw you while you were biting your nails.
  197. Who did you meet while you were walking in the park?
  198. I was dealing with this problem all last year.
  199. I was watching the sea when a whale appeared.
  200. I was cutting trees when my chainsaw went wrong.
  201. I was having a shower when my favourite film started.
  202. Why were you laughing while I was talking to you?
  203. I was eating heathy dishes all last month.
  204. While my brother in law was tiling the kitchen, I was painting the walls.
  205. I burnt my hand while I was grilling bacon.
  206. While I was dancing, my ankle sprained.
  207. I was looking at a shop-window when I bumped into my favourite book.
  208. I was hurrying to the office when I stepped into a dog poop.
  209. My husband was raking the grass when he found a golden ring.
  210. I was preparing for my exams all last month.
  211. I was answering your question when you interrupted me.
  212. I was running when a dog bit my leg.
  213. While I was cooking the lunch my children were playing football in the garden.
  214. We had to climb the stairs because they were mending the lift.
  215. We were harvesting the grapes when a bee bit me.
  216. While my son was feeding the chickens it started to rain.
  217. I was arranging our holiday all (day) yesterday.
  218. We were travelling to Gyöngyös when we got a puncture.
  219. While/when I was riding my bike, an old man stepped off the sidewalk/pavement.
  220. My brother in law was working in the factory all (week) last week.
  221. I was picking cherry when a bucket fell onto my head.
  222. I was frying potatoes while I was talking to you on the phone.
  223. While we were sailing, we were singing songs.
  224. I was staring out of the window, while/when the plane was landing.
  225. My wife was ironing from morning till night yesterday.
  226. A baby next door was crying from midnight until eight am.
  227. I was sweeping the pavement when a garbage truck appeared.
  228. A blond beauty was walking on the dusty road when somebody hit her by a car.
  229. Why were you shouting while/when you were watching the match?
  230. I was spreading butter on my sandwich when the microwave oven exploded.
  231. My teacher was explaining the English grammar while he was fidgeting with his phone.
  232. We were watching TV yesterday at 5. / Yesterday at 5 we were watching TV.
  233. I was watching TV when the postman arrived, so I turned it off.
  234. I was eating in the dinning car when the rain started.
  235. Were you driving in/on the engine when he jumped out? Yes, I was driving in/on the engine when he jumped out. No, I was not driving in/on the engine when he jumped out.
  236. We was following when the rain started.
  237. Were you watching a quiz show from nine p.m. to ten p.m.? Yes, I was watching a quiz show from night p.m. to ten p.m.? No, I was not watching a quiz show from night p.m. to ten p.m.?
  238. I was watching a reality show (or reality shows) from morning to evening.
  239. We were taking a trip all day yesterday.
  240. We were watching the clothes all day yesterday.
  241. I was cooking the lunch all weekend.
  242. They were playing tennis all afternoon.
  243. What were you doing at 7 am.? I was just having a shower then.
  244. Jack was not sleeping so he heard the noise.
  245. Peter and Joe were having breakfast when I called them.
  246. Why wasn´t John working when you went to see him?
  247. Were the children sleeping when you left home?
  248. We were just having dinner when we heard the news.
  249. No one was working that Friday.
  250. It was a Saturday night. None of my friends were working.
  251. I was having a shower when the telephone rang.
  252. We were sitting in a café while you were waiting in the bank.
  253. What were you doing while I was working?
  254. They were staying at home during the weekend.
  255. I made the breakfast while you were having a shower.
  256. I did a lot of work while you were chatting with your friends.
  257. I did a lot of work during the weekend.
  258. I met John in the summer of 1990. He was working in Budapest then.
  259. I studied philosophy at the Sorbonne in Paris.
  260. I was cleaning the house all Sunday.
  261. We were dancing a lot at the party.
  262. They had been married for 15 years when they decided to divorce.
  263. We were eating scrambled eggs for breakfast when you arrived.
  264. Were you having scrambled eggs for breakfast when the postman rang the bell?
  265. What was he/she doing when the coconut fell down? He/She was sleeping under the tree then

 

 

komment

Címkék: fordítás nyelvtan angol tananyag igeidők past continuous középfok

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://bsnyelvtanfolyam.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr967904996

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása